My first round of BEP Chemo

It has been a while since I posted, but I wanted to post about my experience with my first round of the Bleomycin, Etoposide and Cisplatin chemo regime for anyone with Ovarian Cancer that may be undergoing or about to under go this treatment so that they can be more informed.

When I first started to do research on BEP, it seemed that all the comments were from men that had the treatment for testicular cancer. BEP is used for that cancer as well as rare cancers that have not responded to other treatments. After reading what I read and having the pharmacist give me the run down of all the scary possible side effects, I must say I was a little apprehensive.  My doctor on the other hand was a little more optimistic about what I would experience based on her experience with her patients.

I was admitted into the hospital on a Tuesday. Because they did not get to get started until late in the afternoon I found out that I was going to have to stay in the hospital until Sunday. Which was one day to many. I was stir crazy by Saturday. The treatment consisted of 3 days of 24 hour treatment and 2 days of periodic chemo administration.  They key to minimizing the side effects is slow administration of the drugs.

I ate well the first couple of days, but then the nausea kicked in and I lived off of toast and peanut butter. It is my go to food at home when I am sick. Because hydration is important during this treatment and I was having issues keeping things down, they gave me additional fluids. Towards the end of the week I was able to keep down a few bland foods, so I got to go home on Sunday as planned.

I spent the first week feeling like crap. Not as bad as some described but crap none the less. The second week I started to feel better and even managed to get out of house. The walls were closing in so I was ecstatic.  Then my head felt tender, my face felt hot and I felt a little nauseated again. The next morning I woke up and realized I had a clump of hair on the back of my head. Sure enough it had started to fall out. Now the waste basket is full, but I still have hair on my head. My hair is really think, so I’m not bald yet, but getting there. The only other problem I have had is feeling exhausted and occasionally have some ringing in my ears, but I can handle it.

I go back next week for Round 2. After Round 3 they will scan me to see where I stand and they decide if there will be a 4th round or not. But after that the Doctors will have to switch it up. This chemo is one of the most aggressive and is usually only given in 3 to 4 rounds.

In the mean time, if you live in my town and you see my running around bald and with a mask on, don’t feel bad or sorry for me or feel like you can’t speak to me because you don’t know what to say. I promise you I am good and  I can handle it. After all, my hair will  grow back and I have God in my corner. And, I am still chasing donkeys.

For those who don’t know my story about going to a revival and hearing the story of Saul and chasing donkeys, you can read about it here:

http://www.sermoncentral.com/sermons/chasing-destiny-kevin-taylor-sermon-on-christian-values-160330.asp

One thought on “My first round of BEP Chemo

  1. My mother completed her last round of BEP in Jan 2013. She went through 4 rounds. She also has Granulosa Cell Tumor. I know this comment is probably finding you not well, but know that there is a light at the end of the tunnel. BEP works! HER TUMOR SHUNK! by a lot! When they operated in March, most tumors were gone and ones that were there were dead in the core. Today is the end of April, she is feeling better, not the same, but getting there….. there is hope.

Leave a Reply

